基于现代系统论的理解, “市政项目公司、市政单位及基金会等”是一类具有突出矛盾和利益冲突的特殊组织。这样的矛盾时常会给协调和决策过程带来严峻挑战。通过多年与这类“特殊组织“合作的经验,我们也构建起了“特殊能力”来帮助这些组织更成功地管理经济、环境与社会需求之间的矛盾。

市政项目公司——矛盾中的组织

在市政项目类的组织中,我们经常可以观察到各种矛盾和利益冲突。这样的矛盾时常会给协调和决策过程带来严峻挑战。比如一边要考量财务要求、预期回报和商业现实,另一边则要顾虑其特有的社会责任和环境责任。不论做何种决定,往往都要以牺牲其中一边为代价。

此类现象发生的频率及产生的影响都远远超过其他类型的组织。这种情况不论是对整个组织还是管理人员而言,都提出了非常苛刻的要求。

与此同时,市政行业的公司和员工一方面习惯了受政府主管部门的领导,另一方面随着能源行业市场化改革的深入,市政公司的商业化思维日益占据主导地位。这种矛盾的大背景也让市政类企业的处境进退两难。

参考资料:Own representation based on Nagel/Glatzer (2009), p. 34

涉及利益相关者的挑战

市政项目公司常常是媒体和公众的关注焦点。此外,市政项目也很容易受政治因素与主管部门的掣肘,后者会很大程度影响前者的决策流程。当有来自市场的其他股东或合作伙伴参与到市政项目中来,这种矛盾和利益冲突就愈发变得不可避免。此时,项目管理者所承受的压力是难以估量的。

事实上,市政公司通常所需要解决的困难一般都可被归纳为经济、社会和环境三者之间利益、目标或需求的冲突。关键问题往往是:长远来看如何保持经济、环境和社会这几方面的平衡?如何能够成功地管理外部利益相关者之间的需求冲突?

我们的顾问团队

Tyll Blaha-Van Amern_Web_31. Mai 2018_3

Tyll Blaha-van Amern

Kuheiga_Web_24. Oktober 2019_2_450x450

Dr. Natalie Brandenburg

On the basis of the Newer Systems Theory, we understand “public utility companies, cities and foundations” as a special type of organization with contradictions, conflicts of interest and, in some cases, paradoxes, which poses special challenges to decision-making and coordination processes. Through years of experience in dealing with this particular type of organization, we have developed a special expertise to help these organizations manage the paradoxes between economic, ecological, and social requirements with greater success.

Public utility companies - organizations with contradictions

It can be observed that in organizations like public utility companies a variety of contradictions, conflicts of interest and sometimes paradoxes are built into the daily decision-making and coordination processes, which can only be found in very few other organizations in this quality and frequency. These phenomena place very special demands both on the organization as a whole and on the actors involved.

Economic requirements, expected returns and business realities on the one hand – the special social and ecological responsibility on the other. Decisions in favor of the one often come at the expense of the other.

This is further aggravated by two facts: First, public utility companies and their employees are still very much influenced by the municipal background which dominated in the past. Second, the business logic has become more and more prevalent in the recent past, which is particularly due to the liberalization in the energy sector.

Public Utility Companies

Source: Own representation based on Nagel/Glatzer (2009), p. 34

Challenges in dealing with stakeholders

In addition, public utility companies are often particularly under “observation” by the media and in the focus of public attention. Furthermore, politicians and members of the supervisory boards frequently exert a strong influence on public utility companies and, due to the current political situation, have an essential impact on decision-making processes. If further shareholders or cooperation partners from the so-called “free enterprise” sector join this game, paradoxes and conflicts of interest are inevitable, which put the involved management constellations to a tensile test which shouldn’t be underestimated.

The paradoxes that public utility companies permanently have to overcome can be grouped together around the tension between economic, social and ecological interests, goals and requirements. The core questions here are often: How can the balance between economic, ecological and social aspects be maintained in the long term? And how can we succeed in skillfully managing the tension between the demands of external stakeholders?

Our consultants for you

Tyll Blaha-Van Amern_Web_31. Mai 2018_3

Tyll Blaha-van Amern

Natalie Brandenburg

Dr. Natalie Brandenburg