MARKUS PETERHÄNSEL谈

首席运营官 SEDLÁK 和合伙人 |咨询领域战略和组织负责人(至 2021 年)

运用系统智慧

随着组织战略与发展流程”EVOLUTION”变革项目的开启,E/D/E集团已经踏上未来的征程。该项目全程在赛德拉克管理咨询公司陪同下进行。赛德拉克战略咨询领域负责人兼董事总经理Markus Peterhänsel向我们解释了项目过程中所采用的方法。

E/D/E的``EVOLUTION``变革项目遵循的是什么方法论,赛德拉克在咨询过程中采用了什么方式?

与我们合作的公司大多处于良好的市场地位,但已意识需要根据市场变化及早做出调整,以保证现有的成功在未来延续。制定有吸引力的、可持续发展的未来远景,比如未来战略定位问题,在这种背景下变得至关重要。在我们看来,这是管理层必须亲力亲为的一项管理工作。因此,我们并不主张直接提供给客户一个现成的解决方案,而是陪伴客户一起走完变革流程。在这个过程中,管理层需要制定出一个面向未来的可持续发展的愿景,而最重要的是这个愿景要得到企业内部的认可和外部主要利益相关者的支持。管理团队和员工的积极参与对于愿景的落地与实施都至关重要。

您和团队为这个项目的``市场研究``花费了很多时间和心血,得出了ISA(创新性利益相关者分析)。请问总体而言ISA 研究在``EVOLUTION`` 项目中扮演了什么角色?

“EVOLUTION” 这个项目在过程中始终遵循”自外而内”的核心原则,即充分考虑到市场和利益相关者的期望。因此,ISA 是整个战略和组织发展流程板块的基本动力。这项研究的对象是整个产业链中的不同人群不同层级:有E/D/E 会员、供应商、合作伙伴,也有终端用户市场的相关行业和经销商,以及个体经销商等。我们收集了来自产业链中约1500名决策者的35万多条个人数据,进行了60次深度,对19个国家进行了分析。研究的最终目的一方面是确定各利益相关群体的具体绩效期望,另一方面是了解整个产业链内的互动和发展。

您获得了哪些洞察?

我们最主要观察到的是,市场逻辑和市场参与者之间的关系方式正在发生变化。对这些变化我们可以做各种各样进一步的评估,也可以在各个具体的方向运用所得到的评估结果。这其中不存在简单的、线性可推导的、普遍适用的那类用简单几句话就能讲清楚的结论。因此,”EVOLUTION”项目是建立在系统智慧的基础上,而非少数几个人对数据的解读。数据池内的所有数据都是输入到愿景开发流程中的养分,调研推导出的结果也是互相关联的。

这个方法的优势是什么?

只有在这样相互连接的背景下,企业内外部的知识、经验和评估才能创造了新的洞察和观点。除了在上述战略背景下使用ISA成果外,我们还可以从数据中看到哪些行动需要立刻执行。在ISA评估完成后,E/D/E高管立即与大约150家会员公司进行对话,以告知和讨论需要立刻开展的工作。此外,ISA的调查结果也大大帮助了旨在加强日常业务而开展的“内务整顿”项目。

ISA 研究得到了很多有价值的反馈。那E/D/E 的合作伙伴从中有何获益?

ISA研究的一项重点是分析会员、合作伙伴和供应商的具体利益期望。我们非常有效地推导出了会员对E/D/E服务期望的阈值,即最低要求和差异化要求,比如特定的附加价值,以及与个性化相关的服务。这时候我们就很明显看到了各种巨大的差异。结合其他特点,我们确定了六种类型的会员,每类会员对E/D/E提供的服务和支持有非常具体的要求。目前,E/D/E 正在努力充实这些从每一类会员需求出发的个性化的服务产品,以期将它们付诸实践。这将有助于会员们提高自身的业绩,同时提升整个E/D/E网络的绩效。

“E/D/E的成功和行业贸易的成功是分不开的”

但ISA并不是E/D/E变革流程中唯一的基础?

在”EVOLUTION”项目框架内,E/D/E 非常仔细地讨论了公司核心竞争力的问题。比如:公司的特点是什么?它能做什么,不能做什么?E/D/E 具有哪些深层的能力可帮助公司进一步发展。这些问题的讨论结果被纳入了变革的各项流程中,比如被纳入了定期进行的E/D/D员工评估流程,以征询员工意见。除此之外我们也通过与会员、供应商的对话以及与专家的交流获得市场信息。这其中包括了行业专家以及来自市场其他领域的专业人士。最大的挑战常常并非来自行业内部。

能谈谈您对产业链的看法吗?

与生产有关的贸易市场以及相关竞争体系瞬息万变。在我看来,很多领域都在承受着巨大的压力。问题是:谁拥有对贸易和行业而言最佳的解决方案?为了使自己未来在这个领域内仍具备竞争力,我认为有必要在产业链内部的合作和服务模式上做一些规范性的改变。为了成功地应对这些模式的变化,产业链中的所有合作伙伴和参与者都需要作出贡献。相比中央管控的强势体系,E/D/E所形成的的产业链具有一定劣势。只有通过将整个网络中的潜力整合起来,同心协力,E/D/E及与其相关的行业贸易才能弥补劣势,取得成功。每位伙伴都需要在这过程中作出贡献,这也意味着我们需要适当放下个体利益。

在E/D/D整个变革流程中,您有什么感受?

E/D/E 具有悠久的成功历史,也有源于业务逻辑的其自身特有的复杂性。E/D/E项目的另一个特征是,没有任何简单的线性决策或解决方案。我们要做的是,在考虑各利益相关群体不同的甚至是相互矛盾的利益与期望的基础上,做出明智的决策并带领公司进一步发展。在变革和传承之间找到适当的平衡是这过程中的一个关键因素。此外,公司各关键领域都受到了影响:战略方向、组织架构、业务流程以及领导力和管理方式本身。所有这些领域的变革都在同步发生。与此同时,公司的日常业务必须继续正常运作。从我们的角度来看,E/D/E正处在一个深刻的变革过程中,它以严肃的、负责的、专业的态度和方式来对待自己的业绩和未来发展。不论是管理层还是普通员工,都正在做着塑造未来的非凡的工作。

什么时候我们可以说“这次变革是成功的”?

从中短期看,如果E/D/E 在外部能收到会员和供应商对其绩效的正面反馈,在内部员工工作时是积极的有动力的。从长远来看,如果E/D/E及其整个网络在市场上保持长期稳定的地位,能够持续发展并为利益相关者和客户输送利益。

SEDLÁK-PARTNER-Markus-Peterhänsel_Print_18.-Oktober-2018_7_498x498

Markus Peterhänsel(战略咨询领域负责人兼首席运营官)自2004年以来一直担任赛德拉克管理咨询公司的顾问。凭借自己的技术专长与全面突出的分析能力,支持诸多国内外大中型公司完成其战略定位变革流程。

您可在PVH杂志阅读访谈全文:

Interview with Markus Peterhänsel

Using the intelligence of the whole system

With the strategy and organizational development process EVOLUTION, the E/D/E Group has set out into the future. It is accompanied by the management consulting company SEDLÁK & PARTNER. Markus Peterhänsel, managing director and head of the strategy consulting department, describes the approach of the consulting company.

What is the basic methodology underlying the evolution process at e/d/e, and what consulting approach does sedlák & partner follow?

We support companies that are in a good market position but have recognized that they must adapt to market changes in a foresighted manner in order to remain successful in the future. The development of an attractive and sustainable vision of the future, i.e. the question of future strategic positioning, plays a key role in this context. We are convinced that this is a management task that cannot be delegated and which must be handled by the management. Therefore, we do not simply provide our clients with a solution in terms of content, but rather accompany a process in which a sustainable vision of the future is developed and – very important! – is agreed upon within the organization as well as with key external stakeholders. The participation of the management team and the employees is crucial to ensure that the result can be implemented and adapted.

With the innovative stakeholder analysis isa, you have invested a great deal of effort in market research. What role does the isa play in the overall evolution process?

The process follows the “outside-in” principle, which means that taking market and stakeholder expectations into account is a very central element of EVOLUTION. The ISA is thus a significant impulse that charges the entire strategy and organizational development process. The study was focused on different levels and stages of the association: E/D/E members, suppliers and cooperation partners up to the end-customer markets industry and trade, but also independent traders. More than 350,000 individual data of about 1,500 decision makers in the production connected trading (PVH) were generated, 60 personal interviews were conducted to deepen the results, the analysis was carried out in 19 countries. The objectives were, on the one hand, to identify the concrete performance expectations of the individual stakeholder groups and, on the other hand, to understand the interrelationships and developments in the entire network.

What insights have you gained?

Our central observation is that the market logic and the type of networking between market participants is changing. Further evaluation possibilities are very diverse and can be used very specifically. There are therefore no simple, linearly derivable and generally valid statements that could be presented in a few sentences. The EVOLUTION process relied on the intelligence of the entire system and not on the interpretation of the data by a few individuals. The entire pool of result data was fed into the process of developing the future vision. The findings derived from this were then again cross-linked with each other.

What are the advantages of this approach?

The linking of internal and external company knowledge, experience and assessments creates new insights and perspectives that are only possible through this type of constellation. In addition to using the ISA results in the strategic context just described, it was also possible to derive immediate needs for action from the data. Directly after completion of the ISA evaluation, E/D/E managers entered into a dialogue with approximately 150 member companies to discuss and address direct needs for action. In addition, the ongoing “housekeeping” program to strengthen performance in day-to-day business was also largely fed by the findings of the ISA.

The ISA-study has thus produced a lot of valuable feedback. What benefits can the e/d/e partners derive from it?

One focus of the ISA was the analysis of the specific value expectations of members, cooperation partners, and suppliers. We were able to derive very valid conclusions about how the expectations of the members regarding the E/D/E services differ with regard to the threshold level, i.e. the minimum requirements, and the differentiation value, i.e. the specific added value, and about the fundamental relevance of individual services. In this respect, major differences and a great heterogeneity became apparent. Combined with other characteristic features, six member types were identified, each of which has very specific requirements for the services and support provided by the E/D/E. At the moment, E/D/E is working on concretizing the respective customized and needs-based value propositions for these individual types in order to put them into practice. This will subsequently strengthen the performance of the individual members, but also of the E/D/E association as a whole.

“Retail trade and E/D/E will only be able to succeed together.”

But isa is not the only basis for the change process in e/d/e?

Within the framework of EVOLUTION, the E/D/E has dealt very intensively with the topic of the company’s core competencies. Like: What shapes the company? What is it able to do, what is it unable to do? What deep-rooted skills does the E/D/E have that can be used for further development? These insights have been incorporated into the process, as have the assessments of E/D/E employees, which are regularly obtained in a targeted manner via so-called sounding boards. Market information from member and supplier dialogues and the exchange with experts were also taken into account. This includes industry experts as well as specialists from other sectors of the economy. After all, the biggest challenges do not usually come from within the own industry.

What is your opinion of the production connected trading (pvh) and the association landscape?

The market in production connected trading and the relevant competitive systems are changing, and they are changing rapidly. In my view, the pressure is enormous in many areas. The question is: Who has the best solutions for trade and industry? I believe that in order to remain competitive in this area in the future, a number of paradigm shifts regarding the cooperation and service design will be necessary. To manage these shifts successfully, all partners and actors in PVH will have to contribute. The trade and E/D/E will only succeed in utilizing the potentials of this network and compensating for the disadvantages compared to centrally managed competitive systems by working together. Each partner must make a contribution here, which also means that individual interests would have to take a back seat.

How do you basically experience the e/d/e in this change process?

The E/D/E has a long history of success and, due to its business logic, has its own complexity. Another characteristic of the E/D/E is that there are no “simple”, linear decisions or solutions. The art is to make wise decisions that take into account the diverse and often conflicting interests and expectations of stakeholder groups and lead to further development. Finding the right balance between change and preservation is a crucial factor here. In addition, several key areas are equally affected: strategic orientation, organizational structure, business processes and, last but not least, the fields of leadership and management as such. All of these developments take place “while the engine is running”, because day-to-day business must continue to function. From our perspective, E/D/E is in the midst of a far-reaching change process and is dealing very seriously, responsibly and professionally with its performance and the future of the company. Many employees and managers are currently doing extraordinary things to shape the future.

When would you say: the process was successful?

In the short and medium term, if the E/D/E receives positive feedback on its performance from members and suppliers, and if the E/D/E staff is motivated and approach its work in a positive mood. And in the long term, if the E/D/E and the entire association have a stable and sustainable position in the market and generate benefits for stakeholders and customers.

(Source: www.ede.de)

SEDLÁK-PARTNER-Markus-Peterhänsel_Print_18.-Oktober-2018_7_498x498

Markus Peterhänsel (Head of Strategy department and COO) has been working as a consultant at SEDLÁK & PARTNER since 2004. With his professional expertise and his comprehensive methodical and analytical skills, he has successfully supported both groups and medium-sized companies in processes for strategic positioning on a national and international level.

Read the interview in
PVH-Magazine:

PVH E/D/E