系统理论实践

为什么系统理论在快速变化的时代尤其具备优势?

在人文科学领域,卢曼及其系统理论对很多人而言仍然只是一个书本上的概念。虽然在大学中,系统理论通常被视为一种相当枯燥难懂的理论,很难在实践中运用,但在日常商业运营中系统理论却能实实在在地提供巨大的优势,尤其是在如今这样快速变化的时代。

1. 知道组织存在盲点

Zukunftsorientierung

任何一个组织都不可能关注、吸收其周围的一切,它必须有所选择。为此,组织会自然而然的产生出一套特有的观察和评估模式,并根据自身特色和需求来建立对环境的感知。然而,这些模式都是在无意识中逐渐建立形成的。也正因此,“组织只看到他们所看到的而忽视他看不到的。”

这又牵涉到组织的“自我肯定”流程,而这是比较危险的。

一方面,组织在不断重复过去工作中成功的模式或进展顺利的流程。这些成功的模式长期被维持着并日益成为难以动摇的基本信念——无论当下的环境是否需已发生变化并需要建立新的标准。

另一方面,组织即使观察到一些新的现象,通常也不会太在意,或仅仅是把其“解释”成与现状相符合的现象。组织并不把新现象的出现视作自身需要改变的信号,而是倾向于把它们与熟悉的事物联系起来。

因此,组织只能感知到其现有“雷达”系统上出现的事件,直至所谓“黑天鹅”事件的发生:一些极小概率、通常被认为不可能发生的事件发生了,从而迫使组织意识到自身的盲点。

你需要知道:你无法看到一切,而且很可能不知道自己看不到什么。你也会有盲点。

2. 扩展思维,消除盲点

如果你意识到自己无法洞察到周围可能存在的机会或挑战,你可以通过扩大思维空间来抵消盲点所带来的危险。

关注外部变化和补充精神食粮能有效地帮助我们拓展视角、识别自己的盲点。

虽然鉴于目前的情况大家都很难去参加线下工作坊或社交活动, 但现在也有许多网络研讨会及其他线上交流的机会,同样能很好地实现这一目的。

gluehbirne idee

3.二阶观察:检视我们观察事物的视角并对视角本身进行调整

Clear Vision

观察模式:

我们可以看看日常观察的通常有哪些维度,哪些没有涉及到?所观察的维度中哪些方面很有趣值得探讨?比方说市场发展、竞争对手甚至员工状态。

评估模式:

我们使用什么标准来评估某项观察是与组织发展相关的?比如说,市场发展是否达到预期?竞争对手的创新行为是否对自己造成威胁?

另一个消除盲点的方法是“二阶观察”,即不断从变化的视角出发,反思自己是如何观察和评估组织的行为和工作方法以及周围环境的发展,以及您的组织如何对待这些变化。

每个组织的行为模式很大程度取决于组织本身的的性质、对目标及其使命的认识。例如,医院对外界信息的理解和考量与银行截然不同,因此两者对待这些信息的态度和标准也大相径庭。

另一个关于组织的观察与评估模式会随着时间而变化的例子是生态问题。由于公众的敏感度及客户行为发生了变化,企业的环保意识会对其形象产生重大影响。企业对环境的破坏或可对其财务状况造成伤害,因此企业在决策中会越来越多地考虑到环境因素。

因此,我们有必要定期审查日常流程中被忽视的规则标准等,明确了解组织以及个人的常用观察与评估模式:

我们可以思考一下自己在信息收集的流程中有哪些特别的习惯。

  • 您如何解释一些现实情况?
  • 这些特别的观察习惯是否会导致您无法看到一些维度?
  • 在贵组织特定的评估体系下,哪些变革行动可以得到执行,又有哪些是无法执行的?
  • 您如何识别和定义这些问题?而识别或定义的方式是否也恰恰是导致出现这些问题的原因?

通过类似这样的提问,我们可以让隐性的一些模式显性化,从而可以更好地进行管理。当我们知道自己的观察模式后,也就更能知道自己容易忽视的视角或问题。 而了解了自己平时所忽视的视角才能让我们有能力去调整惯用的评估模式,尽量避免盲点。

4. 假设的大前提——未来的不确定性

没有人知道接下来会发生什么,未来会怎样是根本无法确定的。在作决策的时候,我们能做的就是充分利用现有的知识和信念做出大胆假设,并且不止停留在愿景与战略的层面,而是推衍出一套的完整决策方案。

当我们在作假设的时候, 很重要的一点是融合内外部不同的视角,并且充分运用组织内现有的知识与资源,也就是所谓的系统智慧。

5. 将最新洞察纳入现有流程

然而,我们对未来作出假设的同时,也必须时刻关注当前的发展,并将新的观察和见解纳入现有流程。环境中方方面面的不确定性需要组织时刻保持敏捷性、一步一步前进,同时注意定期的协调与反思。这种前瞻性的思维方式可以为我们,尤其是在发生危机时,节省大量时间。

6. 这还包括纠正错误的勇气和意愿

不用太纠结于如何改变或是打破已经作出的决定。在如今这样的年代,未来的发展具有极大的不确定性。我们可以推断未来社会的知识与技术水平必定与今天的不同,因此对于今天所作的决定,明天可能就会出现一个更好的替代方案。在我们的沟通中过程中,始终要考虑到犯错的概率,因为这会有助于我们纠正错误。当我们看到出现了比现有途径更合适更有利的选项, 不要害怕改变,而要怀有纠正错误的勇气。

Navigieren im Change

7. 系统理论铁三角:变化 - 选择 – 稳定

[layerslider_vc id=”6″]

一些外来的新变化会带来刺激,同时也打开新的思维空间,让我们看清自身的盲点。当我们不断地有目标地给予这种变化或刺激,组织便会保有采取各种行动的可能性。对组织而言,有更多行动的可能性意味着更安全,因为当发现所选择的路径走不通时,还能考虑其他选项。

通常来说,组织更倾向于选择已经尝试过的而回避全新的未知的方法和模式等。因此“选择”的这个流程至关重要,需要管理者陪伴与精心策划。带有批判性反思的观察与评估模式以及跨学科和跨层级的决策团队都有助于在甄选过程中作出创新的突破。

一旦决策作出之后便来到了执行阶段。组织可能从始至终都想试图保持原有的模式或日程,而不愿去接受新的决策。因此,我们可以构建组织的学习架构,在考虑到组织复杂性的同时将组织与个人的学习紧密结合起来。

8. 认识“繁琐”与“复杂”的区别

您可能已经意识到,当您采取某些措施想要在组织内推行某些行为或流程时,总是达不到预想的效果。原因之一可能是忽略了繁琐与复杂之间的区别。

举例说,若要将航天器拆分到最小的零件需要多年的研究。然而,结论是清晰且明确的:只要将所有零件都安装正确,每个螺丝都在正确的位置,使用正确的材料,天气条件是适当,等等,当所有条件都具备,飞船就能起飞。机器(简单系统)遵循的是物理或技术领域可以解释的因果关系。如果某样东西不能按照计划工作,则必定有一个或简单或复杂的原因,比如是松动的螺丝或者有缺陷的串联线路等。

然而,一旦有人以及人所作的决策开始发挥作用时,情况就大不相同了。

Spielplan

比如说一场足球比赛(复杂系统)。球场上有22个人,他们虽然表面上追求着相同的目标,但在场的每一位选手都在一次又一次地根据现场情况作出决定。我是利用防守中的间隙自己射门,还是我的队友所在的位置更合适射门? 我是从对手的右边还是左边突破?即使是最有经验的足球专家都无法预测各位球员在每种情况下会做出哪些决定,谁将进球,何时进球,以及比赛的最终结果为何。

相比机器而言,组织内事件发生的情况更类似于一场球赛。尽管每位员工都履行着某种功能,就像机器中的螺丝钉一样,但复杂的过程一直不断在人们的头脑中(心理)中发生——从对情况和任务的理解,到对所感知到的情况的意义分析,再到想要实现个人目标的动机。这些复杂的过程和社会性的动态变化使得我们很难甚至根本无法预测一项决策可能引发的行动及其后果。因此,我们都不能低估组织现象的复杂性和社会动态的重要性。当有人为实现组织变革目标善意地提出一些看似简单的方案或措施时,我们需要保持怀疑的态度。

9. 为何不确定性使创业行为成为可能

Strategieberatung

虽然人们常常对对未来的不确定性、动态变化以及不可预测性感到无所适从,但这种不确定性实际上是创业行为的基本先决条件。

试想一下,如果你已经准确地知道市场、社会需求和客户行为在未来几个月甚至几年中会如何发展——这种情况听起来或许很诱人?再试想一下,如果所有竞争对手也都具备相同的信息,那您该如何获得新的竞争优势?您如何才能在竞争中脱颖而出?

只有当所有这些信息都不确定,而您可以根据假设做出决策,这才有可能先于其他人意识到可能的趋势或发展。成功属于那些能够及时发现市场或社会存在的需求及问题,并能在市场空白的情况下提供明智解决方案的人。

我们应该将不确定性看作是创业行为的资源与机会,并通过自己独有的创新意识与解决方案来积极塑造新环境。

系统理论实践手册

系统理论实践电子文档

下载有关系统理论实践的免费文档,了解更多系统性组织咨询相关信息。




    您是否想更多地了解我们的咨询服务,深入了解系统性组织咨询在实践中的操作?

    欢迎通过以下方式与我们的顾问预约咨询服务,我们竭诚期待与您交流:

    „赛德拉克为您协调
    战略、组织、人员层面的针对性变革“

    作为一家系统性组织咨询公司,我们在处理公司内部复杂问题方面拥有专业的知识与多年积累的经验。我们的专家团队将为您一站式提供您所需的服务。

    赛德拉克咨询服务的理论基础是系统组织理论的前沿发现。基于这一理论,我们并不将组织内的人员视为主要的干预杠杆,而是更多地关注组织内部既定的观察模式与评估模式,及其特有的沟通方式。

    更多信息

    加入我们

    理论基础

    最新发布

    系统文化指南

SYSTEMS THEORY IN PRACTICE

WHY A SYSTEM-THEORETICAL APPROACH CAN BE A VALUABLE ADVANTAGE ESPECIALLY IN DYNAMIC TIMES

In particular the humanists will remember Luhmann and systems theory from their student days. While systems theory was usually perceived at university as a rather dry topic with little applicability in practice, a systemic approach to everyday business in fact offers enormous advantages – especially in dynamic times like these.

1. BE AWARE THAT YOU HAVE BLIND SPOTS

Future orientation

An organization cannot be aware of and absorb everything that happens around it. It must inevitably select. To this end, organizations automatically form observation and evaluation patterns that structure and organize their perception based on organization-specific criteria. As a rule, however, these patterns are only implicitly present, so that the processes of differentiation run unconsciously. It follows from this: “Organizations only see what they see. They do not see what they do not see.”

This involves a dangerous process of self-affirmation.

On the one hand, what worked well in the past is repeated. Successful patterns of explanation and interpretation are maintained and increasingly grow into basic convictions that can hardly be disrupted – regardless of whether the environment now requires other criteria.

On the other hand, deviating observations are usually not perceived as such and are “reinterpreted” until they fit into the usual scheme. Instead of considering them as a signal for change, they are adapted to what is familiar.

In other words, organizations only notice what is already on their radar screen – until, at some point, the so-called “black swan” appears: an event that was considered unrealistic or even impossible until it occurred, thus forcing the organization to become aware of its blind spots.

For you, this means: Remember that you don’t see everything – and most likely you won’t see that there is something you don’t see. You also have blind spots.

2. EXPAND YOUR MENTAL HORIZON TO COUNTERACT BLIND SPOTS

If you are aware of the fact that individual opportunities and challenges elude your observation, you can counteract the danger that arises from this – by expanding your space for thinking.

External impulses and food for thought are a good way to identify your blind spots and to look beyond the proverbial end of your nose.

Even if participation in workshops and networking events is difficult due to the current situation, there are now numerous webinars and other opportunities for digital exchange that also serve this purpose very well – except for the chat at the coffee machine.

Brainstorming

3. ATTENTION, NOW IT GETS THEORETICAL: SECOND ORDER OBSERVATION - CHECK THE GLASSES THROUGH WHICH YOU ARE LOOKING AND ADJUST THEM ACCORDINGLY

Systems theory in practice

Observation Patterns:

Which dimensions are observed, which are not? Which aspects within an observation dimension are interesting? Examples are market developments, competitors, or employees.

Evaluation Patterns:

What criteria do I use to assess whether I consider an observation to be relevant? For example, are market developments in line with our expectations? Do we consider the competitor to be capable of keeping up with our own innovations?

Another measure that counteracts blind spots is the so-called second-order observation. Regularly take a meta-perspective and reflect on how you observe and evaluate your organization’s actions and ways of working as well as developments in your environment and how your organization makes distinctions.

How these patterns are designed in each case depends very much on the respective organization, as they are largely determined by the identity and the self-understanding of the goals and purpose of the organization. A hospital, for example, considers completely different information to be relevant than a bank does and therefore works with completely different distinctions and criteria.

One example of how observation and evaluation patterns change over time is ecological issues. Since public sensitivity and consumer behavior have changed and the environmental awareness of a company has an impact on its image and environmental damage can mean financial disadvantages, corresponding criteria are increasingly being taken into account in decision-making.

Therefore, you should regularly review the criteria that usually remain invisible in day-to-day operations and explicitly define the implicit observation and evaluation patterns of your organization as well as your own:

Check which distinctions you use in information gathering.

  • How do you explain your reality?
  • What is it that you don’t see because of your distinctions?
  • Which courses of action do your differentiation criteria and explanatory patterns enable you to take, and which are blocked by them?
  • How do you recognize and define problems and does this contribute to the fact that these problems arise in the first place?

Questions like these make the implicitly existing patterns explicit and thus manageable. By being aware of the glasses through which you look, you can also see what you cannot see. In turn, knowing what you can’t see gives you the possibility to adjust your patterns and reduce your blind spots.

4. HYPOTHESIS-BASED WORK - THE FUTURE IS AND REMAINS FUNDAMENTALLY UNCERTAIN

Nobody knows what is coming; the future is and remains fundamentally uncertain. Therefore, in order to be able to make decisions, the only possibility is to make assumptions to the best of one’s knowledge and belief and, based on these, not only to develop strategies and future visions but also to build subsequent decisions on them.

When making these assumptions, it is important to incorporate different perspectives and use the existing knowledge in the organization, the so-called system intelligence.

5. INTEGRATE GAINED INSIGHTS INTO THE RUNNING PROCESS

However, if assumptions have been made about the future it is important to keep a constant eye on current developments and to integrate new observations and gained knowledge into existing processes. The uncertainty on all sides requires agile work with small steps, regular coordination, and reflection. Such a foresighted way of working can save a lot of time, especially in case of a crisis.

6. THIS INCLUDES: THE COURAGE AND WILLINGNESS TO CHANGE COURSE

Do not hold on to decisions you have already made by hook or by crook. Especially in times like these, future developments can only be predicted with great uncertainty. Therefore, always assume that the state of knowledge may be different tomorrow and that there may be a better alternative tomorrow to the decision made today. We should always include the probability of error in our communication, this helps us to correct it. If other ways turn out to be more suitable and promising, do not stay on the wrong track, but have the courage to correct your course.

Navigate in Change

7. FOR HARD-CORE FRIENDS OF SYSTEMS THEORY: VARIATION - SELECTION - RESTABILIZATION

[layerslider_vc id=”6″]

The targeted injection of impulses causes irritation, opens up new spaces for thinking, and illuminates blind spots. Generating such variation in a targeted manner ensures that the organization has options for action. It gives the organization the security of having more options than it can utilize – after all, if a chosen path has to be abandoned, new ones are already available.

Organizations tend to hold on to the tried and tested and neglect the new and unknown. Therefore, the process of selection is a very demanding one, which has to be accompanied by managers and organized in a smart way. Both critically reflective observation and evaluation patterns as well as interdisciplinary and cross-hierarchical decision-making bodies help to make the new possible in the selection process.

Once a decision has been made, the realization or implementation can start. Until the end, organizations can defend themselves against the new and try to preserve established routines for better or worse. This is where learning architectures are needed that interlock organizational and personal learning and take into account the non-triviality of organizations.

8. NOW IT'S GETTING AGAIN A BIT MORE DEMANDING: CONSIDER THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN “COMPLICATED“ AND “COMPLEX“:

You may have noticed that measures that you take for example to promote certain behavior or work practices do not always achieve the desired results. One possible reason for this could be the difference between complicated and complex processes:

For instance, understanding a spacecraft down to the smallest detail requires years of study. Nevertheless, in the end it is clear: The spaceship will take off – provided that everything has been installed correctly, every screw is in its place, the correct material has been used, the weather conditions are right and, and, and. Machines (trivial systems) follow cause-and-effect relationships that can be explained physically and technologically. If something does not function according to the plan, there is a simple or complicated reason for this, ranging from a loose screw to a complicated concatenation of different defects.

When people and decisions come into play, however, the situation looks quite different.

Strategy consulting for strategy development

Let us consider a soccer game (non-trivial system). 22 individuals on a pitch, who, although superficially pursuing the same goal, have to make decisions again and again based on the situation. Should I now use the gap in the defense or is my teammate at a better angle to the goal?  Do I play to the right or to the left of my opponent? The most renowned soccer expert would not be able to predict which decisions the players will make in each of these situations, who will score a goal and when, and how the game will ultimately end.

Organizations can be compared more to soccer games than to machines. Although every employee fulfills a certain function, as is the case with a screw in a machine, complex processes take place in people’s minds (psyches) – from the interpretation of situations and tasks, to the attribution of meaning to perceived situations, to the motive of wanting to realize personal goals. These complex processes and social dynamics make it difficult or even impossible to predict actions and their consequences. Therefore, do not underestimate the complexity of organizational phenomena and the importance of social dynamics. Be skeptical when well-intentioned advisors suggest trivializing solutions and measures to achieve goals in order to bring about necessary organizational changes.

9. WHY UNCERTAINTY MAKES ENTREPRENEURIAL ACTION POSSIBLE IN THE FIRST PLACE

Strategy consulting SEDLÁK & PARTNER

While the uncertainty about the future, dynamic developments, and the lack of predictability are often lamented, this uncertainty is in fact the basic prerequisite for entrepreneurial action.

Imagine if you knew exactly how markets, social needs, and customer behavior would develop in the coming months and years – sounds tempting? Now imagine that all your competitors have access to the same information. How do you gain another competitive advantage? How do you stand out from the competition?

Only the fact that all this information is not available with certainty, but that decisions are made based on assumptions, makes it possible to recognize trends and developments before anyone else. Success comes to those who discover needs and problems in the market or in society for which there are currently no good solutions, and find smart answers to them.

Consider uncertainty as a source of entrepreneurial activity and as an opportunity to actively shape your environment through innovative and surprising solutions.

BROCHURE ON SYSTEMS THEORY IN PRACTICE

DIGITAL BROCHURE ON SYSTEMS THEORY IN PRACTICE

Download the free brochure on systems theory in practice and learn more about the work of a systemic organizational consultancy.






    WOULD YOU LIKE TO LEARN MORE ABOUT OUR CONSULTING SERVICES AND KNOW WHAT SYSTEMIC ORGANIZATIONAL CONSULTING MEANS IN PRACTICE?

    WE LOOK FORWARD TO A PERSONAL CONVERSATION WITH YOU. USE THE FOLLOWING FORM TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH OUR EXPERTS:

    “WE SKILLFULLY PLAY

    THE TRIAD BETWEEN STRATEGY,

    ORGANIZATION, AND PERSONNEL“

    As a systemic organizational consultancy, we have special expertise in dealing with interdependencies within a company. With us you have all services under one roof and experts at your side.

    Our consulting services are based on the findings of systemic organizational theory. Following this understanding, we do not primarily see the people in an organization as the key levers for observations and interventions, but rather the established observation and evaluation patterns and the characteristic communication routines.

    Further Information

    Career at
    SEDLÁK & PARTNER

    Scientific
    Basis

    Latest articles of the editorial office

    Systemic Culture Compass