人力资源企业文化战略未来管理咨询组织

新的工作形式和领导力

新冠疫情让人们对更灵活的工作模式抱持更开放的态度,这些模式为员工提供更多自由,同时也要求他们承担更多个人责任。许多组织正在接受New Work的元素。在日益动荡的商业环境中,这是暂时的趋势还是必然的改变?

新的工作形式和领导力

新冠疫情让人们对更灵活的工作模式抱持更开放的态度,这些模式为员工提供更多自由,同时也要求他们承担更多个人责任。许多组织正在接受New Work的元素。在日益动荡的商业环境中,这是暂时的趋势还是必然的改变?

New Work – 短暂趋势?

New Work一直是组织发展中最被炒作的流行语之一,而不仅仅是自新冠疫情以来。无数的培训形式、专业文章或社交媒体帖子都将New Work、工作 4.0、敏捷性、组织弹性和类似的流行语,作为有希望帮助应对各种规模组织环境中日益增长的复杂性的答案。这其中通常伴随着对组织环境的轻视,而这是我们作为系统性组织顾问所质疑的。但这些术语目前受到的关注恰恰也表明我们组织存在着严重的发展问题,需要有人专门去解决这个问题。

最迟到2020年年中,绝大多数组织都清楚地表明,他们的工作环境不仅已经发生了变化,而且未来还需要不同的工作模式,以跟上日益复杂的环境。

New Work的概念远远超出了移动办公、数字工具和创意工作空间:这个概念描述了我们工作环境的根本变化,它提供了新的可能性,同时也对组织、管理层和员工提出了新的要求。

New Work在实践和组织分工中意味着什么?组织必须设置扁平化的管理架构吗?管理者愿意下放权利吗?员工如何更独立地工作?如何确保管理者能自由地做出决策,同时符合组织的战略目标?如何让员工承担更多的个人责任——又要如何让管理层转交更多的责任?

与赛德拉克的顾问就企业文化和New Work的话题安排免费在线对话,了解如何在组织中有针对性地实施New Work和现代工作形式的元素,以及需要应对的挑战。

虚拟和有意义的领导力是同一枚硬币的两面

工作与生活的融合早已取代了工作与生活的平衡。经典的朝九晚五模式已经过时了。我们生活在一个很难明确区分私人生活和工作的时代——需要新的、更灵活的方式去组织工作。西方世界从前的工业社会现在更确切地说应该称为知识社会。知识工作所需的逻辑与流水线工作不同,对领导力的理解也要与时俱进。

我们的工作模式变得越来越混合,移动办公也变得理所当然。即使在疫情过后,仍有超过半数的公司希望坚持更灵活和混合的办公模式。

但虚拟领导力如何得以成功?现代领导力有哪些要素?

对于许多组织学专家来说,很明确的一点是:我们需要信任员工的自主能力,也需要一个经过沟通后达成共识的有吸引力的组织愿景,以激励员工为实现战略目标做出贡献。

现代管理不再是控制和管理,而是依赖于共同定义的目标和透明并获得共识的评估标准。如果组织的架构能够促进员工一起参与组织目标的制定与达成,这样的架构就能支持员工的自主管理(不论他们在哪里工作),减轻管理人员的负担,从而为人际管理任务(包括通过线上沟通渠道)创造空间。

New Work – 定义与分类

“New Work”一词最初可以追溯到社会哲学家弗里斯约夫·伯格曼 (Frithjof Bergmann),他在 1970 年代末试图建立一个反对泰勒主义对工作流程控制的模型,并批评资本主义社会中的经典价值和行为模式。

伯格曼认为,从工业时代向知识时代过渡的组织面临着为员工提供更多独立、自由和社区参与的挑战。在他看来,变化的社会结构要求将工作发展成一个有意义的领域,人们可以在其中实现自我。

很长一段时间,New Work被谴责为社会乌托邦。但由于全球化、自动化、数字化、学术化、技术工人的竞争以及经济环境的日益复杂等因素,伯格曼的理论渐渐得到了肯定,并在变化的环境中显得越来越重要。

尽管没有统一的定义,New Work在今天通常被理解为一种将员工现实生活与组织结构结合起来的方法和尝试。

“工作 4.0 ”是经常与“New Work”同义使用的术语。这两个术语确实有很多共同之处,但两者是从不同的角度来看待现代工作对环境的需求。

微观和宏观经济背景下的New Work

© 2022 SEDLÁK & PARTNER | 欢迎通过电子文档了解更多相关信息。

““对大多数人来说,工作就像轻感冒。
你可以坚持到周五。” “

 

– Frithjof Bergmann

* 1930年12月24日 – 2021年5月23日
New Work运动发起人
密歇根大学哲学与文化人类学教授
图片来源: Wikimedia Commons

为什么New Work变得日益重要?

今天,传统工作模式的流程和结构部分地与民主社会的结构形成对比,并限制了以自主决定和自我负责的方式发展自己潜力的自由。

过去,许多员工都在为一份有保障的工作而奋斗。今天,在缺乏熟练工人的行业中,雇主对潜在雇员的招聘竞争非常激烈。人们选择他们的工作地点,并希望对他们的工作方式有发言权。

智能手机或云解决方案等技术使我们的日常生活更轻松。但在组织中,员工通常不能也不允许使用这些我们每天在私人生活中所使用的解决方案。

今天,管理不再是关于控制、绩效改进或卓越运营,而是关乎如何授权给组织中的员工,使他们独立自主地为实现组织目标做出贡献的问题。如今,上班打卡已经不再是问题,重要的是如何对结果进行充分评估。

与此同时,全球化、数字化、人口统计、知识半衰期的缩短和气候变化都增加了对组织适应性和对市场动态做出反应的要求。因此,员工需要能够在组织价值链框架内对工作目的进行分类与思考。

人们对领导力的理解正在发生着变化。工作的意义已经成为核心问题。

今天的员工需要并希望了解他们为什么要做某个工作。在组织环境中,仅仅解释工作分配及其含义已经不够了——理想情况下,团队还需要一起制定组织领域的目标,及其对价值创造能做的贡献。

New Work话题电子文档

疫情导致了人们对更灵活的工作模式持开放态度。与危机相关的数字化浪潮促进了新的工作模式,其特点是工作与生活的融合、远程工作、灵活的工作方法以及对组织弹性因素的更高认识。

这份电子文档结合疫情第一阶段后组织所面临的的具体挑战,对New Work在企业战略沟通、组织和人员发展之间的联系以及当前形势下的有效管理等方面的重要性的做出了简要评估。

您可通过以下表格免费获取此份电子文档。

    姓名(必填)

    公司

    职位

    电子邮箱(必填)

    电话(必填)

    主题

    您的信息

    与New Work相关的其他咨询服务

    我们认为组织的深刻变革只有在战略、组织和人员发展的有效关联的情况下才能实现并可持续地推进。

    现有的组织架构以及对企业文化的考虑(比如说New Work),对组织变革的成败起着决定性的作用。 因此,组织在实施New Work模式的过程中通常与我们以下链接中的服务密切相关。

    战略
    开发

    企业文化
    发展

    组织
    转型

    前瞻性
    自我更新

    联系我们

    如果您有兴趣了解更多关于赛德拉克的信息以及我们的咨询方式,欢迎通过以下方式联系我们!期待与您的合作。

    电话咨询

    欢迎电话垂询,获取更多细节信息

    邮件咨询

    欢迎发送邮件,告知您的疑问或建议

    线上咨询

    欢迎给我们线上留言

ConsultingCorporate CultureFutureOrganizationPersonnelStrategyNew Work

New Work and Requirements for Contemporary Leadership

The Corona pandemic has led to an openness towards more flexible working models that offer employees more freedom, whilst also demanding more personal responsibility. Many organizations are embracing core elements of New Work. Is this a temporary trend or a significant necessity in an increasingly volatile business environment?

New Work and Requirements for Contemporary Leadership

The Corona pandemic has led to an openness towards more flexible working models that offer employees more freedom, whilst also demanding more personal responsibility. Many organizations are embracing core elements of New Work. Is this a temporary trend or a significant necessity in an increasingly volatile business environment?

New Work - a temporary hype?

New Work has been one of the most hyped buzzwords in organizational development, and not just since the Corona pandemic. Countless training formats, professional articles, or social media posts celebrate New Work, Work 4.0, agility, organizational resilience, and similar buzzwords as a promising answer to dealing with increasing complexity in the environment of organizations of all sizes. Often, this is accompanied by a trivialization of organizational contexts, which we as systemic organizational consultants view with skepticism. Yet, the attention these terms are currently receiving characterizes a serious development problem of our organizations that needs to be specifically addressed and worked on.

At the latest by the middle of 2020, it became clear in the vast majority of organizations that our working world has not only already changed, but that different working models will also be needed in the future in order to keep pace with the increasing complexity of our environment.

New Work goes far beyond mobile working, digital tools, and creative workspaces: The concept describes a fundamental change in our working world, which offers new opportunities but also places demands on the organization, the managers, and the workforce.

What does New Work mean in practice and for the organizational division of labor? Is it absolutely necessary to have flat hierarchies? Can managers cope with relinquishing their power? How can employees work more independently? How to ensure that they make decisions according to their own discretion and at the same time in line with the strategic goals of the organization? How do you empower employees to take more personal responsibility – and how do you empower management to hand over more responsibility?

Arrange a free online dialog with SEDLÁK & PARTNER’s consultants for Corporate Culture and New Work. Find out to what extent elements of New Work and modern forms of work can be implemented in your organization in a goal-oriented manner and what challenges need to be considered.

Virtual and meaningful leadership are two sides of the same coin

Work-life blending has long since replaced work-life balance. The classic nine-to-five model has had its day. We live in an age in which a clear separation between private and work life is becoming increasingly difficult – and new, more flexible solutions to organize work are required. The former industrial societies in the Western hemisphere are now more accurately described as knowledge societies. Knowledge work requires different logic than assembly line work and a changed understanding of leadership.

Our work is becoming increasingly hybrid, the mobile office is becoming a matter of course. More than one in two companies would like to stick to more flexible and hybrid work models even after the Corona pandemic (see, among others, the press release of the ZEW).

But how does virtual leadership succeed? What constitutes contemporary leadership?

For many organizational scientists, it is clear that trust in the self-organization abilities of employees is needed, as well as shared, well-communicated and attractive visions of the future that motivate employees to make their own contribution to achieving strategic goals.

Instead of control and management, modern management relies on participation in defining goals and on transparent and shared criteria that can be used to measure the achievement of goals. Structures that enable transparency with regard to jointly defined goals and their achievement generally relieve the burden on managers by supporting the self-organization of employees, regardless of where they work, and thus create space for interpersonal management tasks, including via virtual communication media.

New Work - definition and classification

Originally, the term New Work goes back to the social philosopher Frithjof Bergmann, who used the term towards the end of the 1970s to try to establish a counter-model to the Taylorist control of work processes and to criticize classic patterns of values and behavior in capitalist societies.

Bergmann saw organizations in the transition from the industrial age to the knowledge age as facing the challenge of enabling greater independence, freedom, and community participation on the part of employees. According to his assessment, changed social structures demand the development of work into a meaningful area in which people can realize their potential.

For a long time, New Work was condemned as a social utopia. Globalization, automation, digitization, academization, competition for skilled workers, and increasing complexity in economic endeavors have strengthened the approaches and increased their importance in a changed context.

Today, New Work – although there is no uniform definition – is understood to be a kind of summary of methods and endeavors that unites the current reality of employees’ lives with organizational structures.

The term Work 4.0 is often used synonymously with New Work. Without a doubt, the two terms have much in common. However, they look at the requirements of modern working environments from different perspectives.

New Work in a Micro- and Macroeconomic Context

© 2021 SEDLÁK & PARTNER | For more information, see our digital presentation on the topic.

Richard Hebstreit, CC BY 2.0 , via Wikimedia Commons

“For most people, work is like a mild cold.
You can tolerate it until Friday.”

 

– Frithjof Bergmann

* December 24, 1930, † May 23, 2021
Founder of the New Work movement
Professor of philosophy and cultural anthropology, University of Michigan
Image source: Wikimedia Commons

Why is New Work becoming increasingly important?

Today, processes and structures of the conventional world of work partly contrast with the structure of democratic societies and restrict the creative freedom to develop one’s own potential in a self-determined and self-responsible manner.

In the past, many employees struggled to find secure employment. Today, in industries with a shortage of skilled workers, there is active competition for potential employees. People choose where they work and want to have a say in how they work.

Technologies such as smartphones or cloud solutions that can be accessed from any device make our everyday lives easier. In organizations, employees often cannot and are not allowed to use these solutions, which we use privately every day, in the same way.

Today, it is less about control, performance improvement, or operational excellence, but rather about the question of how employees in an organization can be empowered to contribute to the achievement of organizational goals in a self-responsible and self-determined manner. For a long time, it has no longer been a question of who comes to the office and when, but rather an adequate evaluation of the results.

At the same time, globalization, digitalization, demographics, the decreasing half-life of knowledge, and climate change are increasing the demands on organizations to be adaptable and respond to the dynamics of the markets. This requires employees who can classify and question the meaning of their activities within the framework of the organizational value chain.

The understanding of leadership is changing. The question of meaning is becoming central.

Today, employees need and want to understand why they are doing a certain job. In the organizational context, it is no longer enough to explain a work assignment and its meaning well – ideally, the goals of an organizational area are also developed together with the team and its contribution to value creation is defined collaboratively.

Digital presentation on New Work and Corona

The Corona pandemic has led to an openness to more flexible working models. The crisis-driven digitization push is promoting new work structures characterized by work-life blending, remote work, agile working methods and a greater awareness of organizational resilience factors.

Get our presentation on New Work considering the specific challenges for organizations after the first phase of the Corona pandemic. The digital presentation includes brief assessments on the importance of New Work elements in terms of communicating organizational strategy, connecting organizational and workforce development, and effective leadership in the current situation.

Download the digital presentation free of charge using the form below.









    Further consulting services related with New Work

    Within the framework of our consulting approach, we assume that profound changes in organizations can only be achieved and sustainably anchored with the help of an effective interlinking of strategy, organizational, and personnel development.

    Existing organizational structures play a decisive role here, as does the consideration of corporate culture – and thus also New Work. The organization-specific implementation of appropriate elements of New Work is therefore usually closely linked to our service offerings linked below.

    Strategy
    Development

    Develop Corporate
    Culture

    Organizational
    Transformation

    Foresighted
    Self-Renewal

    Contact Options

    If you would like to learn more about us and our consulting approach, we look forward to a personal conversation with you! Simply make an appointment with us.

    Call
    Call us

    Give us a call and we will discuss all further details personally

    Contact via E-Mail
    E-Mail

    Write us an email and share your expectations and requirements with us

    online contact
    Online

    Make a non-binding inquiry and specify your expectations