家族企业所面临的另一项挑战是需要确保股东大会的成员具有适当的知识与技能来履行他们的职责。如果没有合适的培养流程,公司有可能面临毁灭性的威胁。

聚焦业务管理

总体而言,家族企业越来越意识到股东需要具备一定的任职资格的。但通常在培养的时候,企业只看重他们的是否懂得业务管理。乍一看没错:在公司有发言权的人需要看得懂财务报表,理解公司的经济状况。但事实上在企业内部,尤其是家族企业内部,与业务管理同等重要的是深谙公司和家族的文化与价值观,这样才能保护他们的利益并使之最大化。

选择合格人选

股东成员一般分为两类:在公司中任职的股东和专门出席股东大会的股东。在多数情况下公司对第二类股东是不作任何培训的。但这实际上违背了股东需要在充分知情的情况下参与公司决策的原则。此外,许多公司只对那些已经担任股东角色的人员进行培养。然而这项工作应该同样包含那些将要述职甚至正在塑造下一代股东的人员。

因此我们建议企业对所有股东都进行资格培养。只有这样才能确保公司目标的的延续,并保护家族业务以及家族价值观的延续。

股东资格培养的相关要求可一并归入家族治理制度中。

这项流程通常需要长达 12 个月的时间。其结果是,股东大会的成员不仅有能力胜任其角色,同时也熟悉企业文化和价值观。

我们的顾问团队

Robert Sedlak - Portrait

Guest Prof. Robert A. Sedlák

Natalie Brandenburg

Dr. Natalie Brandenburg

Viktoria Künzel

Viktoria Künzel

Family businesses face the challenge of ensuring that members of the general shareholders’ meeting have the skills and knowledge necessary to fulfill their role in the business. Companies expose themselves to the risk of destructive influences if a targeted qualification process does not take place.

Business management qualification in focus

Overall, an increased awareness of the need for shareholder qualification in family businesses has been observed in recent years. However, most of the companies that engage in such activities focus primarily on conveying an understanding of business management concepts. At first glance, this seems understandable: whoever has a voice in the company should be able to read a balance sheet and grasp important economic issues. But especially in family businesses, it is equally important to know and internalize the culture and values of the company and the family in order to protect their interests and act in their best interests.

Selection of individuals to be qualified

Furthermore, the group of shareholders is divided into two segments: those who play an active role in the company and those who appear exclusively at the shareholders’ meeting. Today, the second group is in most cases completely neglected in the qualification efforts, which is, however, contrary to the goal of fully informed decision-making. Moreover, many companies only further qualify those shareholders who have already assumed their role. It is recommended, though, to also include those individuals who will hold a corresponding position in the future and those who will shape the upcoming generation.

It is therefore advisable to offer and monitor qualification opportunities for all shareholders. This is the only way to ensure a target-oriented continuation of the company while preserving the values of the family and the family business.

Corresponding requirements can be defined and made binding in a Family Governance Code.

This type of process usually takes up to twelve months. It results in a shareholders group, which can fulfill its task not only competently and comprehensively trained, but also familiar with corporate culture and values.

Our consultants for you

Robert A. Sedlák

Guest Prof. Robert A. Sedlák

Natalie Brandenburg

Dr. Natalie Brandenburg

Viktoria Künzel

Viktoria Künzel